2012 NZ Blind National Championships

The regatta was run by Ponsonby Cruising Club and sailed in the MRX Fleet on the 18th February 2012. Five windward leeward races were held west of the Auckland Harbour bridge in a steadily building westerly breeze.

The competion was fierce and the guns were shared between Ben Geddes from Tauranga and Dave Allerton from Taranaki. However consistency won the day. Five second placings secured by Russell Lowry of Palmerston North ensured he became the 2012 national champion.Dave Allerton finished second and Paulien Eitjes from Tauranga finished third. Ben Geddes and Dick Lancaster from Tauranga finished next.

 The teams were, (sighted support sailors in brackets):

    Russell Lowry, Mark Mulcare, (Phil Douglas & Tom Macky)


    Phil Douglas, tactician, Mark Mulcare, mainsheet, Russell Lowry, skipper & Tom Macky, trim.
     Dave Allerton, Haly Craig, (Terry Valder & Rob Vallom)

    Paulien Eitjes, Mingming Edgar, (Paul Moriarty & Stuart Julian)


    Ben Geddes, Dave Parker, (Brian Trubovich & Kevin Mulcare)


    Dick Lancaster, Rob Aislabie, (Kristine Lederis & James McLellan)


This regatta marks the start of the trial and selection process for the World Blind Sailing Championships in Japan, May 2013.Sailors who did not sail in these championships will also be eligible for selection after competing in future trials, dates to be announced.