2011 NZ Match Racing Championships

Congratulations to Mat Steven and his team from Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club for taking out the Championship after a close fought battle with Scot Dickson. The contest came down to the wire with both teams on 2 wins going in to the final race of the finals. Mat managed to gain a penalty on Scott in the starting sequence of this race, the two teams were locked together right to the finish with Scott unable to complete his penalty on the line without letting Mat past to victory.

Mat Steven & his team from Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club

Benny Butcher from the RNZYS Youth Squad was third followed by Tugdual Piriou and his team from Noumea in fourth, Samantha Osborne came in fifth and Sharon Ferris-Choat and her Canadian Olympic match racing team were sixth.

Scott Dickson defends a narrow lead over Mat Steven in the final race