The NZ Marine Industry Sailing Challenge 2009

The inaugural Marine Industry Challenge was organised by the MRX Fleet with the backing of their Marine Industry sponsors. It took place in ideal 8 to 12 knot North Easterly winds on the Waitemata Harbour, Thursday 16 April 09.

A star studded line up of 88 sailors competed for the Touch of Gloss NZ Marine Industry Sailing Trophy.


The Touch of Gloss NZ Marine Industry Sailing Trophy

The sailors featured a who's who of the NZ Marine Industry with Ray Davies and Rod Davis from Team NZ making guest appearances.

Skipper Briefing

Skipper and First Mate briefing

The event was showcased as a fun afternoon and an opportunity for the industry to get together outside of business but it was clear when the fleet of one design MRX yachts lined up on the starting line that you cannot hold competitive sailors back!


Start at Westhaven

Ovlov Marine Volvo Penta, helmed by Ray Davies, established an early lead over Rod Davis and his team of Invitation Allstars on Club Marine with North Sails and Josh Tucker in hot pursuit. 

Ovlov Volvo

Winner, Ovlov Marine Volvo Penta with Ray Davies at the helm

Runner up Rod Davis with his Invitation All Stars crew

North Sails

North Sails keeping the pressure on

Bunch at North Head

Half the fleet bunched off North Head after an hours racing

Racing remained tight throughout the 2 hour race with Hall Spars and Yachting Developments securing 4th and 5th place. The last four places were not decided until the results of some Americas Cup style match racing tactics had sorted themselves out in the last 30 seconds of the race.

Hall Spars

Garry Hassall and Dave Ridley Hall Spars all concentration

Yachting Developments

Close behind, Bob Graham and the Yachting Developments Crew

Ovlov Team

Peter Jacobs with his Ovlov Marine Volvo Penta team

A magnificent trophy which features an original wooden block off Ranger from Ian Cook, Yachting Developments, was presented to the winners at the prize giving in the Dinghy Locker by Dale Pennington of Touch of Gloss.

Dale & Ian

Dale Penington Touch of Gloss and Ian Cook Yachting Developments with the Trophy

With all the yachting talent on the water we congratulate Peter Jacobs and his crew from Ovlov Marine with a little help from Ray Davies for taking out the trophy!

Peter Jacobs Ovlov

Peter Jacobs with the trophy

The event is now established in our yachting calendar with crews and guests all agreeing that they will be back bigger and better next year!

To see all pictures of the day click here


2009 NZ Marine Industry Sailing Challenge Entrants:

 MRX  Team  Crew
1991 Harken Fosters Garry Lock Skipper, Rex Innes-Jones First Mate,  Chris Burgess, balance TBC
1992 Brin Wilson Boats Nick Saull Skipper, Bob Wilson First Mate, Peter Vitali, balance TBC
1993 High Modulus / Adhesive Technologies Brian Jones Skipper, Grant Beck First Mate, John Beck, David Gunn, Denis Kendall, Dean Salthouse, Warren Vaudrey
1994 Yachting Developments Bob Graham Skipper, Ian Cook First Mate, Steve Birdsall, Phil Saunders, Jarrod Steen, Patrick Londeen, Anthony Bridge, George Norridge
1995 Invitation All Stars Rod Davis Skipper, Mike Birdsall, Peter Busfield, Lloyd Stevenson, Craig Garmston, Kent Gray, Sam Stewart, TBC
1996 Reid Yacht Services Josh Puckey Skipper, Craig Roe, Helen Phelps, Andy Williamson, Jamie Logan, Sharon Bartlett, Meredith Graham.
1997 North Sails Josh Tucker Skipper, Dave MacKay, Steve Roberts, Jim Maloney, Paul Murray, Hayden Whitburn, Paul Snape & James Viaduct Harbour.
1998 Hall Spars Dave Ridley Skipper, Garry Hassall, Mike Elley, Maurice Rossouw, Bret Bakewell-White, Quinny Houry, Mike Relling, Pat Costello. Peter Montgomery appologies.
1999 Touch of Gloss Sean Patterson Skipper, Brent Gribble First Mate, Colin Maddren, balance TBC
2000 Southern Spars Matt Davies Skipper, Dean Harper, Kevin Batten, Nick Heron, Steve Cotton, Andrew Brown, Jono Rankin, TBC
2001 Ovlov Marine / Volvo Penta Ray Davies Skipper, Peter Jacobs First Mate, Dan Rankin, Angus Small, balance TBC